myvasectomyjourney

The story of my journey to (hopefully) get a vasectomy

Consultation appointment this morning?!?!

My appointment for the consultation was this morning at 10am. This appointment was for the Title 10, government vasectomy grants; not the actual doctor who would be doing the surgery. When I called to schedule the appointment the other day, the lady told me that if I wanted to get there about 9:30 and get it started early, I could. So me, always in a hurry to get things knocked out, got there around 9:15.

Of course, this place was in the most ghetto hospital in a very ghetto city (Jacksonville Florida). When I walked into the hospital (where the Title 10 office was), and got to the ladies office, I thought I made a wrong turn and ended up in a storage closet. This office was TINY!

She had me fill out some forms when I got there, and then put me in the “TV Room”. This thing looked like it was the closet for the closet, haha. The TV in the room was one of the old school fat TVs, and had a VCR (yes, a VCR) hooked up to it. I guess they used a  VCR because the video they showed me what made in like the early 1980s. It was bad. The guy was wearing a sweater, and his wife had a giant 80s fro going on. Luckily I already knew about everything that was on the video from my own research, so I was free to just giggle silently about how “nerdy” everyone looked in the 80s.

One the 30 year old video was over, the lady in the office came back with a “surprise”…it was a business card…with my surgery date already scheduled with the only doctor in the area that they work with. Yea, she didn’t come back and ask if it was something I still wanted to do, or ask if there was a preferred day to do it on…No, she came back with my appointment already set! Oh, and that date is ~30 days away!!

This definitely caught me by major surprise. Yes, I do want the surgery, but I would also like to take it slow. This is my “boys” we are talking about snipping…

Anyways, I will be looking up reviews on this doctor today, and make sure I do not want to call and cancel. For something like this, I would rather pay $500 for the traveling doctor who has a great reputation, then spend $0 and get hacked up, haha…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

